Wednesday, 18 January 2012

M.C. Chagla Memorial Government Law College National Moot Court Competition, 2012

The Government Law College, Mumbai in association with the Chief Justice M. C. Chagla Memorial Trust hosted the 18th M. C. Chagla Memorial Government Law College National Moot Court Competition on 14nd & 15rd January, 2012.
The Competition which went National this year witnessed participation from 15 of the best law schools/universities in the country with ILS Law College, Pune emerging as the winner and the Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Patiala coming a close second. The award for the Best Memorial went to National Law University, Delhi whereas the award for the Best Speaker and the 2nd Best Speaker went to the the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata and ILS Law College, Pune respectively.
The Competition, based on Constitutional Law, had a unique format with teams arguing on two Moot Propositions through the Preliminary, Quarter-Final, Semi-Final and Final Round of Arguments. Teams had the opportunity to argue before eminent law practitioners, partners of law firms and senior counsels of the Bombay High Court, the likes of which included, Mr. Darius J. Khambatta, Additional Solicitor General of India, Mr. S. U. Kamdar, Mr. Milind Sathe, Mr. Pravin Samdani, Mr. Pradeep Sancheti, Mr. Satish Maneshinde, Mr. Denzel Arambhan amongst others. The Final Round of Arguments were presided over by Hon’ble Mr. Justice J. H. Bhatia and Hon’ble Mr. Jutice R. C. Chavan, Judges of the Bombay High Court.

1 comment: